Pomegranate Breakfast Drink

Right now, I’m sipping on a drink. Breakfast in a glass. Pomegranate, homemade yoghurt (I managed to get a better batch than my first attempt of this year), oats. Call it what you like, Smoothie, Detox Drink, Healthy Drink, Pomegranate-Pear-Banana-Shake. But give it a try, it’s lovely.

You’ll need:
1 pomegranate
1 pear
1 banana
4-5 tablespoons rolled oats
(homemade) yoghurt to double the amount of juice/oats, about half a liter or 2 cups

First, prepare the pomegranate. I always had trouble doing this (so I never really bought them frequently), but I saw this video lately that changed everything.. Take a look if you love the taste, but don’t know how to handle the splashing-around. I found that leaving them to soak for a few minutes makes the white even softer and the whole thing even easier.

Puree pear and banana, I used a regular hand blender. Generally add the pomegranate. This will make the whole thing thinner. If you have trouble with only the pear and banana, you might want to add a little splash of water. For me it worked out fine without, the pear is giving a lot of juice.
When all of the pomegranate has been added, add the oats. Puree until smooth. It will be rather thick now. Double the amount of juice with the yoghurt and enjoy.

This made about 1 liter. Jummy, healthy, just right. The photo might be blurry (I was hungry, hah), this didn’t affect the taste ;).

Pomegranate Breakfast Drink

There definitely is a different smell outside. It’s still too early to say, and frost will probably still come, but I start thinking about spring..

Leave a Reply

