My Zimmermann Year

Last year, I bought the Knitter’s Almanac by Elizabeth Zimmermann. I didn’t really read it, nor did I knit anything. After fighting with a yarn I bought for a sweater for my husband, I took this little green book, and had a good laugh. How I love her way of thinking, her way of writing, and her common sense. And the patterns and thoughts about self-thinking knitting are delightful to read. So many times now, I bought or saw books about knitting containing just bad-made, not-fitting patterns. And, sorry if I say so, I do think I can knit a little, so those patterns are just too easy and unchallenging to me.

Now I was so happy to have found a woman kind-of writing down my feelings, with this lovely sense of humor she had. So I decided to give it a go and start at the Aran she’s dealing with for January. There was a lot of ripping. There was even more calculating (I LOVE calculating, LOVE this little bit of knitting maths – oh, I really enjoy that part of making new things). And now I’m on my way to a cardigan for my love. This yarn (Royal Tweed, Wolle Rödel) is still frustrating me, but the thing is turning out nice, warm and cozy.

My Zimmermann Year 1

The reason I bought this book, was that I finally wanted to have the pattern for the February Baby Sweater. And -what a coincidence- my neighbor was expecting a little baby girl, so after I started the Aran, I started the baby sweater. Oh, I will need all of those woman’s books! This is soothing my knitting frustration, this is so inspiring!

My Zimmermann Year 2

So, baby girl, born last Monday, I do need some time to finish this little handknit of yours. And your mama needs some rest first, so you’ll have to wait a few more days. But I think, it will look lovely. I’ll give my very best..

My Zimmermann Year 3

I’m curious to see how far I’ll get with the Zimmermann year!

4 thoughts on “My Zimmermann Year

  1. Pingback: February Baby Sweater | PetiteDaphne

  2. I love the pattern of this sweater — can’t find the pattern anywhere though. Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Almanac has the adult version pattern but it doesn’t seem to have the child’s size pattern. any ideas how to obtain the sweter pattern in the child’s size?
    MEA

  3. Hi MEA! Sorry for the late response.. So you mean the Aran? For a child sized sweater I would go down in needle size and yarn aLOT (so to get a smaller gauge!), to make sure you can still fit a lot of stitches in. Than you make your gauge, and the maths start: how many stitches would you need to get the circumfence you want? If you want to have the complete Fishtrap at the back, you need to go down in needlesize and yarn enough, to have it fit on about 1/3 of the stitches (1/3 back, 1/6 side, 1/3 front, 1/6 side, does that make sence? I think it should about fit..) since you also might want to fit a cable next to it.. That’s the counting and trying part. The part I enjoy so much! Good luck..

Leave a Reply

